Nuart Aberdeen 2024: Living Heritage - Closing Statement

CLOSING STATEMENT A parting note from Nuart Festival Director and curator, Martyn Reed:

“The ephemeral nature of much of the culture we work with and produce at Nuart can be regarded as intangible cultural heritage. This incorporates the parts of our shared past that live in the present -everyday rituals and practices, cultural expressions, celebrations, festivals, stories, songs and craft that help to define who we are. These don’t have to be as old as time, this is heritage that lives in the present. This was the theme that we set out to explore this year, and as we sit here to unpack and decompress, we share WhatsApp messages and photos, trawl through thousands of drop box images and share those stories that become “sticky” with meaning. It’s this “stickiness” of certain stories during Nuart that keeps the work on the wall far more than the paste and paint. So I’d urge everyone, in this media saturated world of pretty murals, to spend a little extra time thinking about what and who is behind these final hero shots and how they contribute to making the city a slightly better place to be in these trying times. We’d like to thank all of our crew, artists, partners, press and extended Nuart Family the world over. Much love from all at Nuart”

The ephemeral nature of much of the culture we work with and produce at Nuart can be regarded as intangible cultural heritage. This incorporates the parts of our shared past that live in the present -everyday rituals and practices, cultural expressions, celebrations, festivals, stories, songs and craft that help to define who we are.

NUART 2024 ARTISTS

Addam Yekutieli aka Know Hope (IL/ PS) @thisislimbo

Addam Yekutieli aka Know Hope (IL/ PS) @thisislimbo

Bahia Shehab (LB/EG) @bahiashehab

Bahia Shehab (LB/EG) @bahiashehab

Case Maclaim (DE) @case_maclaim

Case Maclaim (DE) @case_maclaim

CBloxx (UK) @cbloxx_nomad

CBloxx (UK) @cbloxx_nomad

Hera (DE/PK) @hera_herakut

Hera (DE/PK) @hera_herakut

KMG (SC – UK) @kmgyeah

KMG (SC – UK) @kmgyeah

KMG (SC – UK) @kmgyeah

Mahn Kloix (FR) @mahnkloix

Mahn Kloix (FR) @mahnkloix

Millo (IT) @_millo_

Millo (IT) @_millo_

Molly Hankinson (UK) @mollyhankinson.studio

Molly Hankinson (UK) @mollyhankinson.studio

Molly Hankinson (UK) @mollyhankinson.studio

Niels Shoe Meulman (NL) @nielsshoemeulman

Niels Shoe Meulman (NL) @nielsshoemeulman

Wasted Rita (PT) @wastedrita

Wasted Rita (PT) @wastedrita

Wasted Rita (PT) @wastedrita

NUART 2024 SPEAKERS

Addam Yekutieli aka Know Hope (IL / PS) @thisislimbo

Adrian Burnham (UK) @flyingleaps2016

Arne Vilhelm Tellefsen (NO) @vlekart

Prof. Bahia Shehab (LB / EG) @bahiashehab

Carlo McCormick (US) David Roos (NL) @droos86

Dr. Enrico Bonadio (IT / UK) @enricobonadio

Dr. Erik Hannerz (SE) @erikhannerz | @research.and.destroy

Evan Pricco (US) @epricco

Prof. Ilaria Hoppe (DE / AT) @kunst_medien

Sami Wakim (US) @streetartunitedstates

Stuart Holdsworth (UK) @inspiringcity

Susan Hansen (AU / UK) @suse.hansen

Tim Horrox (UK) @buildhollywood

Tim Marschang (BE) @streetartcities